Welcome to the APBWeb.
    Talon Razor is offline Rookie

Career Path to the Feds...

So I'm currently a student up here in Alaska, having two years left on my Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a minor in Biological Sciences. My ultimate goal is to become a United States Deputy Marshal, although working as an FBI SA or Diplomatic Security SA (I'd really like to serve as an RSO) would be interesting as well. I know it's extremely competitive in these agencies which is why I'm trying to prep myself now as best as I can. I was wondering if you gents could be so kind as to point where in my current plan I'm weak and what I should do or change to tweak my desirabilities.

I'm currently planning to finish my education here in Alaska at our local university, which is pretty craptastic. Meanwhile, I've been putting in calls to the local USMS field office (got the number of their recruiter and will be talking to her next week) and FBI branch. Once I'm done with my B.A., I plan to transfer to University of Washington to expand my minor into a full-fledged Bachelor of Science in Cellular Biology. However, I've been hearing from quite a few cops and Feds that getting a Masters would be more important. Once I'm done with education, I'm wanting to get into a PD, something like Seattle PD, Tacoma, King's County or Bellevue. Should I join the Army National Guard at this point? I was thinking of doing a four or five year contract while I work as a street cop to get military experience. A former USDM I've talked to said that fed agencies really don't like having a Guardsman on their staff so I'd have to make sure the contract was up by the time I started applying. Is National Guard service attractive?