Welcome to the APBWeb.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Donut Aficionado is offline The Hillbilly Warlord
    Verified LEO

My child (12yo) searched by police

On Sunday a 12 year old boy who lives on my street stole a pack of smokes from the local 7-11 store.

The police were called and came down my street looking for the kid and happen upon my kid in my driveway. The officer makes him empty his pockets and tells him he looks like the kid that stole the smokes. Never did he attempt to contact me, I was inside the house, they were in my driveway. I was more than likely in the basement and thats why I did'nt see them.

I have limited experience with kids due to my background in military and federal LE, but I was always taught that if you search a kid, they have to have thier parent present. Can anybody enlighten me on this? My kid is really bummed out and the PD told me they dont have to contact me when they search my kid....but I disagree.
    Insert witty comment and disclaimer here.

Terminator is offline BANNED
    Quote Originally Posted by Donut Aficionado
    ...I was always taught that if you search a kid, they have to have thier parent present. Can anybody enlighten me on this? My kid is really bummed out and the PD told me they dont have to contact me when they search my kid....but I disagree.

You can search a juvenile without his parent or guardian present.

When you arrest/detain a juvenile, or charge them, then yeah, their parents need to be notified.

If the cigarettes were found on your child, then yes, the P.D. would have contacted you. However, even though they didn't have to contact you, it would be good policy for them to do so, so they could have explained to you what the deal was.

lesta311 is offline Evil is my business.......