Welcome to the APBWeb.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    scratrat is offline Rookie

Another HR 218 Question

Well, I guess I'll strat with the intro. Hi!

I am a Federal Corrections Officer. It is my understanding that I fall under the clause of HR 218 with regards to carrying throughout the 50 States. Let me emphazise, I am in NO WAY attempting to impersonate an LEO or say I am one, but for the purposes of this law, I fall in the category.

Anyway, I hold a Florida concealed carry permit. There are places I can't carry, ie, schools, parks, bars, etc. Does the same hold true if you are falling under HR218? Can I carry in an establishment that serves alcohol, if I'm either not drinking, or there to pick up food or something? I also noticed that at several parks (city owned) there are signs saying "No Firearms". I can't seem to get a straight answer if this means no carry, or no target practice. I understand that some places are off limits, like court houses and so on. But I want to cover my bases so I don't get into trouble. Obviously, it's concealed. But God forbid something minor happens, and I'm carrying somewhere I sohuldn't, I don't want to be in trouble.

Finally, the Bureau does not issue us any kind of card or ID that says we are licensed to carry, proficient to carry, nothing... Just your Bureau ID. The Warden even mentioned once that we were permitted to carry off duty with our ID. As an LEO, am I going to run into problems if all I can produce is my Bureau ID card?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

bird1 is offline Corporal
    Verified LEO
    " The hardest thing about disarming an armed suspect is not slipping on your own shit "

Michael P. Gordon E.O.W 08 Aug 2004

The opinions given in my posts DO NOT reflect the opinions, views, policies, and/or procedures of my employing agency. They are MY PERSONAL OPINIONS and I accept sole responsibility as such.

countybear is offline BDRT - Baby Daddy Removal Team
    Verified LEO
    Super Moderator