Welcome to the APBWeb.

Question to all the officers out there

I am a senior Criminal Justice student from Nebraska embarking on my senior thesis for my Bachelor's in CJus. I am currently brainstorming ideas for a topic for my senior project. The topic has to be a specific policy, problem or practical application of a problem pertinent to the criminal justice field. Right now I have two ideas: liability policies (a officer helped come up with that one) and whether juvenile justice should be punitive focused or rehabilitative focused. I was just putting this out there in hopes that some LEOs could help with first hand experiences and topics they would research and right a paper on if given the chance.

Thanks for all that you do in the line of duty that no one ever thinks about!!!

Kimble is offline Fact: sharks love cheeseburgers
    Verified LEO
    Write about something that interests you, makes it a whole lot more tolerable when doing a research paper (so long as it fits the requirements your professor gave). For example, for my thesis in grad school, I picked counterfeiting because, at that time, I was interested in working for the Secret Service (who investigate counterfeiting crimes). I gave a history of counterfeiting, methods of how it's done, and criminological theories that may explain why people do it (my professors really liked that part). It just makes research papers more enjoyable (if you can really enjoy such a thing) if it's a topic YOU are interested in.
    "I'm the only one in this room, that I know of, professional enough carry this Glock 40." -Lee Paige, DEA (just before shooting himself in the leg)

"America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, bad-ass speed" Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936

Jks9199 is offline The Reason People Hate Cops & Causer of War
    Verified LEO