Welcome to the APBWeb.
    ARJJ is offline Officer First Class
    Supporting Member Lvl 3

Any probation/parole officers here?

Hello all, most of you probably know I was a cop for almost 3 years, until I was hurt OTJ and then terminated last year.

Anyway, I have been offered a job with the state DOC as a "correctional field officer." Basically a PPO. If any of you have experience in this line of work, I'd appreciate hearing your advice, thoughts, etc., before I make the decision to accept the position. The money is comparable to what I'm making now (as a carpenter), and of course it carries excellent benefits. The only downside is that the open position is an hour away, and I'd have to drive my POV to and from work. (The state is broke so they can't aford to provide everyone cars.)

I've always been interested in doing probation/parole work, as I've learned in my LE experience that I seem to develop rapport among all different kinds of people--even the criminals. I'm also good about documenting activity, and I don't mind doing paperwork--I assume there will be a lot of that with this job.

TIA everyone.

Cidp24 is offline Tempus Fugit
    Premium Lifetime Member
    Verified LEO
    Most of the guys that I know in that job enjoy it, except for the personal car thing. Also, once you get in the system there is some room for advancement or even change of assignment to DOC investigator, which I hear is a great job.
    "It wouldn't take much for me to up and run...
    to another life somewhere in the sun."
    "There's something inherently wrong with having to put on a bullet-proof vest and a gun to go to work."-(An old friend)