Welcome to the APBWeb.
    JMJ
    JMJ is offline Rookie

Contemplating a career change.

I have been trying to decide what to do for some time now. I currently work in construction, but I have been thinking about applying to some local depts. My only concern is that I wont have enough time for my family, specifically my son. I always hear officers talk about how difficult it is to have a family life. Between working weekends, holidays, court time, training classes, and the actual shifts(which I hear dont always end at the time they are suppose to), is there anytime left for family?

I feel a strong calling to do this, but at the same time I would be giving up a great job and, again the whole family issues bother me.

Thanks for any advice

OfficerResource.com is offline Site Administrator
    Verified LEO
    Quote Originally Posted by JMJ
    I have been trying to decide what to do for some time now. I currently work in construction, but I have been thinking about applying to some local depts. My only concern is that I wont have enough time for my family, specifically my son. I always hear officers talk about how difficult it is to have a family life. Between working weekends, holidays, court time, training classes, and the actual shifts(which I hear dont always end at the time they are suppose to), is there anytime left for family?

I feel a strong calling to do this, but at the same time I would be giving up a great job and, again the whole family issues bother me.

Thanks for any advice
    My Advise would be to follow your heart. Construction is a job that you can always get back into. It is true that we work a ton of hours and never know exactly when we will be home. I think that this makes time with family even more special. I cherish the time that i spend with my wife and kids.