Welcome to the APBWeb.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    TXCharlie is offline Former & Future Reserve Officer

Angry Well, the Chief did it to me again... Is there any other way???

As a few of you know, I've been pushing for Citizens On Patrol in our town for about 3 years now, but the PD has always disallowed it based on liability. It's been an emotional rollercoaster all the way, involving the Mayor, Town Council and all that trying to get past the liability paranoia.

Well, the Chief finally approved it... Last night we had a meeting... Then I come to find out that members who have CHL's (Concealed handgun Licenses) - which I do - are automatically banned from the program. I don't know whether to cuss or cry

At the meeting last night, I offered to sign a legally binding contract allowing them to search my car at any time while I'm on patrol, and which also specifies a $5,000 fine if I have a gun.

Hell, I'll make it $10k, because I'm not going to break the rules - I proved that in another city where I quit when they came out with rules against carrying pepper spray. I could have broken the rules, but I didn't.

But, the Chief said the only way I could join the program is relinquish my CHL license, so it'd be illegal to carry a gun (I told him that there was NO WAY that would EVER happen).

Supposedly, his goal is to keep patrol members on a legal leash by making it illegal to carry a gun - But the stupid thing is, they could STILL legally carry a loaded rifle or shotgun in their patrol car - Nothing forbids doing that in Texas (as far as I know). So he really accomplished nothing

I think this is all B.S. retalliation for being a pain in his butt, because neighboring towns don't have this requirement - but his only requirement is to make it illegal to carry a pistol while on patrol - So is there a way that I could legally refute my CHL for the short time I'm on patrol, while retaining it when not on patrol???

I've racked my brain, and can't think of a way.