Welcome to the APBWeb.
    slowpoke98908 is offline Rookie

Cool Marker Lights on Semi Trailers and bad tires

I am a truck driver and do a lot of drop and hook. Most drivers don't take care of equipment, so I find lots of marker lights bad as well as bad tires.

At what point would you consider putting a driver out of service, or ticketing for marker lights not working.

What about bad tires? - If a tire has 1/32 of tread just in one grove, but the rest may be say 5/32 should I not pull it?

The idea is to have a point where I tell the company I won't pull the trailer until repair.

Any guideance would be great.

Vendetta is offline Today, We are All Hokies
    Verified LEO
    Well Im not DOT certified but I run a lot of RADAR and when I stop a CMV all bets our off. ? I start stopping cars for 12-15 over depending on traffic and I stop CMV at 10 over (again depending on traffic). If I stop a CMV for speed and the tires are bald thats another summons. Marker lights only get wrote if he/she has an attitude.
    That being said the reason I pop them for bald tires is because of re-caps blowing out and leaving big chunks of rubber on the highway. You would be amazed at the damage a re-cap will do to a car at 65 mph. And these drivers know they lose them but dont care enough to try and get them out of the roadway
    "And don't go home, and don't go to eat, and don't play with yourself. It wouldn't look nice on my highway", Buford T. Justice

#1 Rule in Police: Sometimes its easier to ask Forgiveness than it is to ask Permission

No one knows what it's like
    To be the bad man
    To be the sad man
    Behind blue eyes

conalabu is offline Grasshopper
    Verified LEO