Welcome to the APBWeb.
    Big-Mo is offline Banned

Camaraderie - - What ever happened to it?????

I am a retired Metro Officer and served over 30 years on the force.
    I want to know, 'What ever happened to the camaraderie we used to have? More
    important is how do they get it back an dbuild on it?
    I left in 2000 and the closeness and unity we had was headed down hill swiftly. Although we never could get a large amount of members to the monthly association meetings, even this was in dire distress. I had not been to a lot party in months as no one wanted to meet afterwards or go to our local watering hole owned by a retired officer. Even NOW, the only officers that show up even once a month or more are retired officers like
    myself. I only go once or twice a month but they all say the same thing, NO active officers ever show up and most don't know what a lot party is. We used to BBQ on duty on very slow nights and answer each others calls IF the other officer is busy.
    You would NEVER make a statement to IAD (Internal Affairs Div) without a Rep or Lawyer. IF, we did make statements, all the officers involved got together prior to get our statements together for everyones protection. NOW, the separate and conquer and the idiots on, don't get representation or plan or they can't wait to talk and put the blame on another cop. It is a terrible shame and bad predicament!! I am not talking Felong Crimes or major incidents but everyday complaints....
    Will there EVER be unity and camaraderie again, hell, even other depts don't give another cop or dept member any breaks on any form of contact. I remember getting stopped many times going home from work and doing minor traffic violations as if we were still in the police car and getting a wave off as we did to all other cops. FORGET IT TODAY!!