Welcome to the APBWeb.
    Garda is offline Policing with nothing but a smile

R.I.P - Officer.com

Not mine but a former members opinion that I happen to agree with:

There's a site on the web you've probably never heard of. Called officer.com, it was, until June, 2003, one of the largest and most-respected web resources for law-enforcement officers worldwide. It offered an extensive directory of departments and agencies, manufacturers and vendors, news sites, and more. It also had a forum, where LEO's and civilians could meet and discuss, well, anything. Run by a police officer, it was the most open, free, and largely noncommercial site of it's kind.
    All that changed in late June, 2003. A large media conglomerate, Cygnus Business Media, purchased the site for an undisclosed sum. I was a member of the officer.com forum at the time, and read with interest Cygnus' announcement about their purchase. They had grandiose visions - a full-time staff of five, part-time help, the web's only dedicated law-enforcement news team. Oh yeah, and money.
    Cygnus paid lip service to the existing members, making wonderful promises about how nothing would be changed, and the site would remain the officer.com we'd all come to know and love. It was just that, though; lip service. They immediately began making changes, including adding a plethora of advertisements to the site.
    Many of the members of the site were upset, both by the changes, and the intrusion by the site's new, civilian, administrator into the restricted, law-enforcement-only areas of the site. Others were upset by the promised changes, worrying that it was going to be turned into an ugly, advertising-covered clone of the company's other sites, such as firehouse.com. Some, such as myself, questioned their claimed commitment to the users, when their apparent focus was on advertising, both their own products and others.