Welcome to the APBWeb.
    01nhra Guest

Memphis, TN question

Hey guys im new to the site. Im a LEO from Philadelphia. I have been working for the department for almost 3 years now. I am thinking about moving and have been doing research on different areas and I have been leaning towards Memphis for a few reasons. I just want to get some feedback from the officers for the Memphis police department of anyone in the area really.

To the officers, what is the department like? I know people have said morale is low and there is a lot of politicing and bad govt/city issues but again im from Philadelphia so none of that really surprises or bothers me. I just want to know about the job, is it really buys/bad/fun? I want to go somewhere where i will be running around busy and have a lot of fun doing it. I love Phila because it is busy and keeps me on my toes, i dont want to go somewhere where there is no action.

And to the civilians (cops too) what is the Shelby county area like? I know you ahve to live in Shelby county to be an officer in Memphis. I have been looking at houses in germantown, arlington etc and really likje some of them. I like being in an area where my neighbors are close by and there are malls, drug stores, pizza shops etc within a few minutes driving. I dont want to have to drive 30-45 minutes to get to places ( I guess thats the city Phila in me).

Looking for an area that has a lot of kids, good schooling and a friendly environment (especially towards" Northerners")

Thanks guys and stay safe

luckyme is offline The bastard you love, the hero you hate
    Verified LEO
    I don't know anything about Memphis PD, but I've heard that the SO up there is a good place.

01nhra Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by luckyme View Post
    I don't know anything about Memphis PD, but I've heard that the SO up there is a good place.
    SO= Sherrifs Office?

luckyme is offline The bastard you love, the hero you hate
    Verified LEO