Welcome to the APBWeb.
    Jks9199 is online now The Reason People Hate Cops & Causer of War
    Verified LEO

College and cops...

This was asked in another thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by Scooley01 View Post
    This is a little outside the topic at hand, but can you offer any suggestions on how I might utilize my degree (Psychology) in this field of work? As in, are there specific positions as an officer I might be able to take that would allow me to use my degree?
    Rather than contribute to drift there, and because it's a good topic, I figured I'd post it up here for discussion.

But let's not limit it to psych degrees. What use are college degrees for cops? How do you use your degree or education as a cop?

Me? I got a Bachelor of Science in Administration of Justice. I had a heavy emphasis in psychology and legal studies in the way I set up my program. (The university ran ADJ as a multidisciplinary program with several tracks.) How's that tied to work?

Honestly... Most of the "cop stuff" you need to know is covered at the academy or through experience. I had a leg up on some of the legal -- but that wasn't essential. It does help having a better understanding of how to read and apply case law, and some of the administration stuff I might have better than someone without that college -- but so much of that is also agency specific that it's not something I'd call vital.

Psych classes? Well, some insights into how people think and act for interviews and investigations helps. And I can talk intelligently with the docs and staff at Mobile Crisis when I bring someone in there.

What do other people say?
    Voting against incumbents until we get a Congress that does its job.

TASER: almost as good as alcohol for teaching white boys to dance

"Don't suffer from PTSD -- Go out and cause it!"
    -- Col. David Grossman, US Army, ret.

All opinions expressed are my own and are not official statements of my employer.

Five-0 is offline Super Moderator