Welcome to the APBWeb.
    Checkman is offline What's the nearest cross street?
    Verified LEO

A day at the range with L.A. County (retired).

Couple days ago I got together with a retired L.A. County deputy for a couple hours of shooting. There are many retired California cops living in my part of Idaho. I'm a rangemaster so I have keys to the department's range. While the sun was out the wind was HOWLING! Note the two big rocks holding down the target stand. We started out with two target stands, but the wind took care of one of them. So we ended up sharing the one you see. We were shooting 9mm, 38 Super, 44-40 Winchester, 45 ACP, 380 ACP and 38 Special.

That's me. I'm holding a Colt 1908 Hammerless (.380). Serial number 3XX. Which makes it one of the first ones to roll off the assembly line in 1908. It was a gift from my wife and it shoots like a champ. It's 103 years old and is still reliable.

Yep I'm short. 5'6" last time I checked. So I'm a short cop. You'd be amazed at how many I deal with who seem to hate the idea of a short cop. In the moves we (short cops) are shown as the ones who have the attitude problem. It's been my experience that it's usually the folks who we're dealing with who seem to have the attitude problem.

Anyway here I am. A good (albeit windy) day at the range.

Verified LEO
    Okay evidently I'm having problems with attachments. I can't download from my computer and when I try to link to my Photobucket album I keep getting invalid file. So no photo. Sorry guys. Hope to have this problem fixed.

Jenna is offline sheep
    Premium Lifetime Member
    Does your picture look something like this?

Cidp24 is offline Tempus Fugit
    Premium Lifetime Member
    Verified LEO
    "It wouldn't take much for me to up and run...
    to another life somewhere in the sun."
    "There's something inherently wrong with having to put on a bullet-proof vest and a gun to go to work."-(An old friend)