Welcome to the APBWeb.
    copdawg is offline copdawg

Lightbulb Physical Training, work out pointers?

Hey guys,

I have been doing this for about 16 years, spent the last 10 as Canine just went back to uniform operations. Mens Health did an article on a Firemens' Workout, but not police. I run but am starting to face the old man aches and pains. Still like to show up the young guys. Does anyone know of workout program for COPS, that will help you maintain baton strike and take down effectiveness. When I was in K9 I stayed in pretty good shape but as more and more admin duties arise it gets harder. Just looking for some help.

Keep your chins up and heads down,

Mark

Virginian is offline Major
    Supporting Member Lvl 2
    Find a nice big pool and swim until you can barely lift yourself out of the pool.
    Protects your joints from the pounding they take during a run, since there's no impact, and it gives you strength, endurance and weight loss.

Trojan 42 is offline Retired Ninja
    Verified LEO
    Here is a little exercise programme that you could try. It can be done anywhere, without the need for any special exercise kit.

Total Body Workout

Each of the following exercises should be preceded by a run of 20 metres or more taking the weight with you. (Medicine Ball best, but free weight in a bag of some sort will suffice). Number of reps can be anything above 10.

1. Push Pulls. Stand with feet shoulder width apart and knees flexed slightly. Hold the weight at chest height, extend the arms straight out in front and return to start position.

2. Throw Ins. Same stance as above. Hold weight behind head straighten arms over head, going forward in front of head by about 1foot, return to start position.