Welcome to the APBWeb.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Do I have a future? -Chiefs, Administrators, perspectives desired

I'll try to keep this post organized and short:

I hold a number of degrees in Criminal Justice and worked for 5-year in a Department in my early 20's and I live in a tri-state area.

When I was 21 I lived in State 1, worked in State 2, and got into trouble in State 3. Because of this my license was suspended in State 3 but it did not effect my day to day life as I worked and lived in the other States and the suspension was never issued there.

I was in a single traffic accident that changed the direction of my career. I was charged and convicted of OUI (.08), leaving the scene (despite dialing 911), & crossing the yellow line. Then in the course of attending one of my court hearings I was followed and then charged with operating after suspension. This charge along with the others made me a habitual offender in that State.

I have never been in trouble a day in my life outside of this single accident that created this avalanche of crap. 2-years later I left the Department by choice because it was no longer a satisfying place to work. At that time I entered private sector work and have become a successful businessman making 3-times the money I did in law enforcement. Ever since then I have been asked by friends and family in Law Enforcement to take positions with them and come back.

Clearly I'd like to but almost nobody in the world knows about the ordeal I went through. With this record (in another state) do I have a chance of being hired or are the powers that be going to view this
    as unacceptable? What are my chances?

armsmaster270 is offline Ret. Sac. P.D. - 270th M.P. Co., Now with D.H.S.
    Verified LEO
    Tough call, don't know the answer. If the info comes out in a background you could be screwed. Possibly see if the 3rd state will expunge.

Pretty women make us BUY beer. Ugly women make us DRINK beer. --Al Bundy