Welcome to the APBWeb.
    NJDenv1 is offline Communications Officer

California Officers: Advice?

California Officers:
    I'm a Police Dispatcher in New Jersey, finishing my associates degree in Criminal Justice. I am looking into jobs in California, because I have researched an area in North CA (Placer County, about 30 min from Sacramento). I like what I see online and am going to visit the area this summer. Housing seems cheaper than in Jersey, and Law Enforcement, including Dispatchers (my current position) seem to have many openings. Since I am not familiar with hiring procedures on the West Coast, plus since I'm not familiar with the area yet, does anyone have any tips on jobs in North California/job searching/anything I should know on living conditions there before I visit? I'd greatly appreciate any advice/tips. Here in Jersey I dispatch police, fire, and first aid. I'm also an EMT, and am bilingual (english-spanish). My goal is to go from dispatcher to police officer eventually. Thanks guys. antnyp85@msn.com or on here.

NptDsp is offline Rookie
    Check out the newest edition of American Police Beat, San Francisco is hiring 911 Call Takers and Dispatchers with decent salary. Good luck

Ghostrider is offline In search of mud for my turtle
    If you're planning on becoming a PO why not just start looking for PO jobs now?

Agencies are in such a bind trying to find/hire qualified people that it may be a good opportunity for you right now. You may be able to negotiate some kind of relocation expense compensation. I know some agencies are giving up to ten thousand dollar signing bonuses! Many also have education incentives if you are planning on finshing your degree.

I'm in Southern CA so I'm most familiar with agencies down this way. I couldn't tell you what's up with the agencies up north.

Some to check with in southern CA:

LA Sheriff
    Anaheim PD
    Santa Ana PD

Good luck!

Lucky Seven is offline Realllly?!
    Verified LEO