Welcome to the APBWeb.
    TXCharlie is offline Former & Future Reserve Officer

Addison, TX Police Chief: "There is a Nationwide Police Shortage"

http://www.pegasusnews.com/news/2007/nov/08/addison-police-chief-ron-davis-says-there-nationwi/

By Minnie Payne

Addison Police Chief Ron Davis

ADDISON, TX — Ron Davis, 51-year-old Addison Police Chief, began his career with the Dallas Police Department in 1978, where he worked in patrol, traffic, support services, special operations, planning and research and the office of the police chief. He was promoted to sergeant in 1983 and to lieutenant in 1987.

Davis grew up in the South Garland area and graduated from South Garland High School in 1974.

“I attended Texas Tech University for three years, taking general studies, before joining the Dallas Police Department,” he said. “In 1990, I completed my Bachelor of Science degree from Amber University; in 1994, I received a Master’s in Police Administration from the University of North Texas.”

Davis said that when he was a child he didn’t aspire to being a policeman.

“When I was in college I knew some guys who worked for the local police department and listening to them talk, police work sounded like fun,” he said.

According to Davis, he started his tenure with the Addison Police Department in 1990 as a captain where he served until 2000, when he was promoted to assistant chief. He became Chief of Police in 2006.

“Two captains report to me and there are all total 82 employees, 48 of whom are sworn policemen,” he said.

Because he earned his education in increments, he stresses the importance of schooling to his staff, he said.

“Cadets are required to have 30 college hours before coming onboard, and we will probably go to a degree requirement,” he said. “The Town of Addison has a full tuition reimbursement program for all employees who enter a fully accredited state college university and maintains a grade “C,” or better.”
    More citizen profiles