Premium Lifetime Member
    Verified LEO
    Site Moderator

2 cops fired after having heart attacks

http://www.sun-sentinel.com/news/loc...,6999998.story

Davie officer says he was fired after debilitating heart attack

By Susannah Bryan | South Florida Sun-Sentinel
    January 30, 2008

DAVIE - For 12 years, Mike Necolettos put his life on the line.

As a Davie police officer promoted to sergeant six years ago, he arrested drunks, nabbed burglars, responded to violent accidents and twice ducked bullets.

Now the married father of three sits home battling high blood pressure and feeling betrayed by the town he spent more than a decade serving. Necolettos, 37, accuses Davie of illegally firing him.

A good cop by all accounts, Necolettos says he lost his job Jan. 9 because of a heart attack he had while on duty in May.

"I was a cop all these years," Necolettos said last week from his home in Davie. "You give your all and then you're fired."

Davie also fired Lt. Greg Mize the same day. Like Necolettos, Mize had been unable to return to work after suffering multiple heart attacks, said his attorney, Andrea Wolfson. The town sent both officers letters dated Jan. 3 terminating them because they could no longer perform their jobs and needed to be replaced.

Both letters, signed by then-Human Resources Director Mark Alan, thank the officers for their service and cite "exemplary" personnel records.

Mize, 47, had worked for the town 21 years.

Town spokesman Braulio Rosa declined to comment, citing privacy laws.

Florida law presumes police officers and firefighters with heart disease got it from on-the-job stress. The law requires cities and counties to pay workers' comp and retirement benefits to officers and firefighters with heart-related illnesses.

The town violated that state law as well as workers' comp statutes when it fired Necolettos, said his attorney, Robert Winess, of West Palm Beach.