Welcome to the APBWeb.
    121Traffic is offline Just Us
    Verified LEO
    Site Moderator

Study Guide found to have POST test questions, verbatim

I don't like posting negative news stories about cops, but I believe in a degree of transparency, and above all, integrity. How could this guy NOT have realized that being the POST curriculum chairman, a serving Chief of Police, and publishing a book with POST questions that he KNEW are verbatim on the test, would NOT be a conflict of interest???!! Then to blame POST and the AG by saying, "Well gee golly, I wrote the questions FIRST, then THEY put them on the test. What was I supposed to do? Not sell my study guide? So yeah, it's compromised, but not because of anything I did!"

Kind of a black eye, and I can just picture defense attorneys on the hunt for overturned convictions. Glad I graduated years before this all apparently started.

DENVER -- Colorado police certification tests have been compromised because many test questions and answers are readily available in a $75 study guide sold by the former curriculum committee chairman, a CALL7 Investigation found.
    Philip Baca, the person selling the study guide, was on the P.O.S.T. (Peace Officers Standards and Training board) curriculum committee for years. The committee oversees testing and education, including approval of all test questions, CALL7 Investigator John Ferrugia learned.
    More at link. Study Guide Has Verbatim Questions From Police Test - Denver News Story - KMGH Denver
    "If anything worthwhile comes of this tragedy, it should be the realization by every citizen that often the only thing that stands between them and losing everything they hold dear... is the man wearing a badge." -- Ronald Reagan, in the wake of the deaths of 4 CHP troopers in the Newhall Incident, 1970